Sep 12, 2013

Joint EUMETSAT/ AMS Meteorological Satellite Conference in Vienna to address key issues on weather, climate, oceans and the environment

Estimated Article Reading Time: 1 min.

On 16-20 September 2013, meteorological experts, scientists and researchers will meet in Vienna, Austria, for the joint 2013 EUMETSAT Meteorological Satellite Conference and the 19th American Meteorological Society (AMS) Satellite Meteorology, Oceanography and Climatology Conference.

Also supported by the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the Austrian Central Institute for Meteorology and Geodynamics (ZAMG), and the European Meteorological Society (EMS), the conference will address such key themes as climate monitoring, atmospheric composition, and satellite-based observations of the oceans. In addition, particular focus will be placed this year on water vapour, clouds and precipitation and the use of current and planned Earth observation systems to improve our understanding and adequately monitor trends and variability in the global hydrological system. These topics will also be covered in the extensive poster sessions throughout the week.

The opening session on the first day of the conference will be addressed by Alain Ratier, Director-General of EUMETSAT, Phil Ardanuy, AMS Meeting Co-Chair and Michael Staudinger, Director-General of ZAMG.

The conference will be attended by over 400 participants from 40 countries with a midweek transatlantic plenary session between the AMS and EMS discussing perspectives on satellites, models, and services in the future.

During the conference, the European Space Policy Institute will present the findings of a study on the economic benefits of the long-standing partnership between EUMETSAT and NOAA.


The European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites is an intergovernmental organisation based in Darmstadt, Germany, currently with 27 Member States (Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom) and four Cooperating States (Bulgaria, Iceland, Lithuania and Serbia).

Source Eumetsat