Sep 11, 2015

Jason-CS Programme enters into force – two months ahead of COP 21

(11 September 2015) The Jason Continuity of Service (Jason-CS) optional programme of Eumetsat entered into force on 9 September, based on the subscriptions from 12 Participating States (Austria, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom).

Estimated Article Reading Time: 1 min.

More Eumetsat Member States are expected to join the programme in the next 12 months to bring the level of subscriptions from 90 to 100%.

The Eumetsat optional Jason-CS programme is Eumetsat’s contribution to the development and implementation of the collaborative high precision ocean altimetry Jason-CS/Sentinel-6 mission, involving also ESA, the European Union through its Copernicus programme, and the United States, through NASA and NOAA.

The approval of this Eumetsat programme is excellent news two months ahead of the COP 21 climate conference hosted by France in Paris from 30 November to 11 December 2015. Indeed, the Jason-CS/Sentinel-6 collaborative mission will extend at least until 2030 the unique record of mean sea level measurements accumulated since 1992 by the Topex-Poseidon, Jason, Jason-2 and Jason-3 altimeter missions, thus providing vital information data to the Small Island Developing States and other countries exposed to sea level rise.

In addition, the mission will – together with the CopernicusSentinel-3 marine mission also exploited by Eumetsat – support the development of operational oceanography in Europe.

After approving Meteosat Third Generation in 2011 andEPS-Second Generation in June, the Eumetsat Member States have now approved the three programmes required to ensure continuity and enhancement of critical observations from three different orbits, from 2020 onwards.

About Eumetsat

The European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites is an intergovernmental organisation based in Darmstadt, Germany, currently with 30 Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom) and one Cooperating State (Serbia).

Eumetsat operates the geostationary satellites Meteosat-8, -9 and -10 over Europe and Africa, and Meteosat-7 over the Indian Ocean.

Eumetsat also operates two Metop polar-orbiting satellites as part of the Initial Joint Polar System (IJPS) shared with the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Eumetsat is also a partner in the Jason ocean altimetry missions exploited jointly with NOAA, NASA and CNES.

The data and products from Eumetsat’s satellites are vital to weather forecasting and make a significant contribution to the monitoring of environment and climate change.

From 2016 onwards, Eumetsat will exploit the Copernicus Sentinel-3 marine mission in cooperation with ESA and on behalf of the EU, and deliver data services to the Copernicus Marine Environment Monitoring Service.

(source: Eumetsat)