Sep 19, 2010

European Parliament - Space Conference 26-27 October - Registration

Estimated Article Reading Time: 2 min.

The « Sky and Space » Intergroup of the European Parliament and Business Bridge Europe (BBE) are pleased to invite you to the Conference on the European space policy which will take place on 26 and 27 October 2010 in the European Parliament Hemicycle in Brussels.

Register online :

For the very first time, a European Treaty, the Lisbon Treaty, which entered into force on the 1st of December 2009, advocates the implementation of a genuine European space policy.

An institutional progress which should give a decisive impulse to space programmes such as Galileo for satellite navigation and GMES for Earth monitoring and security, as well as to the other ambitions of the European Union (EU) in space exploitation and exploration, with, as the outcome, key scientific, economic, industrial and social stakes.

Nevertheless an institutional progress which also leads to a redistribution of competencies – both between Member States and the European Institutions, including especially a deciding role for the Commission and the European Parliament, and between those Institutions and the European Space Agency (ESA) – all of which raises a wide range of critical questions in terms of political responsibilities, projects management, programmes governance, financing, etc.

All these questions have serious consequences on the future of the ambitions of Europe in space, as well as for the huge range of services expected from European space infrastructures to come to the service of the welfare of citizens, the management of the planet and the climate, the protection of the Environment, scientific progress, public governance, security, the development of enterprises, etc.

Come and debate these issues during the two days of this great get together.

The President of the European Parliament, Jerzy Burzek, the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy, the Vice President of the European Commission, Antonio Tajani, the Director General of ESA, Jean-Jacques Dordain, the President of the EIB, Philippe Maystadt, and the President of the Committee of the Regions, Mercedes Bresso, will do the opening of the Conference.

With the participation of:
The European Parliament, The European Commission, The European Council, The European Space Agency (ESA), The European Investment Bank, The European Committee of the Regions, The Belgian Presidency of the Council of the EU, Arianespace, Areva, ASI, CNES, DLR, EADS-Astrium, Eumetsat, Eutelsat, Eurospace, The Belgian High Representation for Space Policy, Nereus, OHB, Telespazio, Thales Alenia Space, T-Systems, etc.

Register online as of now, on the Conference website:

You would also find on this website the Conference Programme with specifics of the various sessions and speakers scheduled, as well as practical information.

For practical reasons and security requirements, we suggest you confirm your registration soonest.